Advisory Board

The GRID-Geneva Partnership Advisory Board, which is composed of representatives from the SwissFederal Office for the Environment (CH-FOEN), the University of Geneva and UNEP, convenes twice a year to review the office's activities, guide its long-term strategy and examine its operational and financial situations with a view to strengthening its institutional capacity.

The Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), the University of Geneva and UNEP have now renewed the previous four-year "Partnership Agreement" under which the DEWA/GRID-Geneva office operates and receives core funding and in-kind support from the three partners. This is now the fifth Partnership phase, with previous agreements having been implemented from 1998-2001, 2002-2005, 2006-2009, 2010-2014. The current agreement, under which all three partners have guaranteed increased core funding and/or in-kind support to the office, will run until 31 December 2018.

The DEWA/GRID-Geneva Partnership is unique in that it is a rare, perhaps the only example, of a formal arrangement between a UN agency or programme (UNEP), a federal government and member of the UN (the Swiss Confederation) and a local institution, the University of Geneva that is run by the Canton and Republic of the Geneva state.

The Advisory Board chairmanship rotates among the three partners' locales and meetings are held twice annually, with each partner hosting in turn. Its six members provide advice and guidance in all areas of DEWA/GRID-Geneva programme of work, as well as scientific support and oversight of expenditure, office staffing etc.

    Board Members

  • Brennan VanDyke, Deputy Director, Science Division, UN Environment
  • Alexandre Caldas, Director, Big Data for Decisions branch, UN Environment
  • Felix Wertli, Head of Global Affairs Section International Affairs Division, Swiss Federal Office for the Environment
  • Karin Fink, Scientific Officer, Environmental Monitoring Section, Economics and Environmental Observation Division, Swiss Federal Office for the Environment
  • Anthony Lehmann, Institut des Sciences de l'Environnement (ISE), University of Geneva
  • Joerg Balsiger, Professor, Department of Geograhpy and Environment, University of Geneva